Mexican Government

The government of the United Mexican States is a Presidential Federal republic. Mexico's government is divided into three levels: the federal Union, the state government, and the municipal government.

The federal Union has three branches of government—the executive, the legislative, and the judiciary. The Executive branch of the government is headed by the President of Mexico, who is also the commander in chief of the military. The President appoints the members of the Cabinet.

The Legislative branch of government includes the Senate, the Congress of the Union, and the Chamber of Deputies. The Legislative branch makes the laws and approves the national budget. The Judiciary branch includes the Supreme Court of Justice, which has 11 judges, all appointed by the President and approved by the Senate.

Most government officials are elected by registered citizens, while others are appointed to their posts. There are 8 parties represented in the Congress. Mexico is made up of 31 free states, led by a governor for a 6-year term and representatives for 3-year terms.

The states are divided into municipalities, which are governed by mayors.

Source: Mexican Government
© 1989 - 2020 Ideal Education Group S.L. All Rights Reserved

Back to top