The Executive Branch

The President holds the power of the Executive Branch, as well as acting as head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The President is responsible for implementing and enforcing the laws written by Congress. The President appoints the heads of the federal agencies, including the Cabinet.

The Cabinet and independent federal agencies are responsible for the enforcement of federal laws. These departments and agencies have responsibilities across a wide range of activity, such as defense, the environment, and Social Security.

Executive Office of the President

The President of the United States is faced with many important daily decisions. The Executive Office of the President (EOP) gives the President the support needed to govern effectively. The EOP is responsible for tasks ranging from communicating the President’s message to promoting U.S. trade interests abroad.

The individual offices change each term as the President identifies needs and priorities. The Press Secretary provides daily briefings for the media on the President’s activities. The National Security Council advises the President on foreign policy, intelligence, and national security. Some of the offices are responsible for maintaining the White House and providing logistical support for the President. For example, the White House Military Office is responsible for Air Force One and the dining facilities, and the Office of Presidential Advance prepares non-White House sites for the President’s arrival.

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is an advisory body made up of the heads of the 15 executive departments. Cabinet members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. They are often the President’s closest advisors. They also play an important role in the Presidential line of succession if the President is unable to fulfill his or her duties. Next is line is the Vice President, followed by Speaker of the House, Senate President pro tempore, then the Cabinet offices in the order in which the departments were created. All the members of the Cabinet use the title Secretary, except for the head of the Justice Department, who is called the Attorney General.

Source: The Executive Branch
Whitehouse.gov CC BY 3.0 US

Back to top