The Cabinet

The Cabinet is an advisory body made up of the heads of the 15 executive departments. Cabinet members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. They are often the President’s closest advisors.

  • The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) develops and executes policy on farming, agriculture, and food. Its responsibilities include meeting the needs of farmers and ranchers, promoting agricultural trade and production, assuring food safety, protecting forests and other natural resources, fostering rural prosperity, and ending hunger in America and abroad.
  • The Department of Commerce is the government agency responsible for creating the conditions for economic growth and opportunity.
  • The Department of Defense (DOD) provides the military forces needed to protect the nation’s security. The military and civilian arms of DOD protect national interests through military action, providing humanitarian aid, and performing peacekeeping and disaster relief services. The department’s headquarters is at the Pentagon.
  • The Department of Education promotes student learning and preparation for college, careers, and citizenship in a global economy by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access to educational opportunity. The Department administers federal financial aid for higher education, oversees educational programs and civil rights laws related to learning opportunities, and helps the educational work of state and local governments, parents, and students.
  • The Department of Energy (DOE) advances the national, economic, and energy security of the United States. It also works to ensure America’s nuclear security.
  • The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is responsible for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services. The HHS administers Medicare and Medicaid, the National Institutes of Health, the Food and Drug Administration, and the Centers for Disease Control.
  • The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) protects the American people from a wide range of foreign and domestic threats, including preventing terrorist attacks, protecting critical infrastructure and civilian computer networks, facilitating lawful trade and travel, responding to and recovering from natural disasters, protecting borders, and regulating the immigration.
  • The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is responsible for addressing America’s housing needs, improving and developing the nation’s communities, and enforcing fair housing laws.
  • The Department of the Interior (DOI) is responsible for protecting America’s natural resources, offering recreation opportunities, conducting scientific research, conserving and protecting fish and wildlife, and honoring the U.S. government’s responsibilities to native populations. DOI manages about one-fifth of the land in the United States.
  • The Department of Justice (DOJ) enforces the law and defends the interests of the United States according to the law and ensures fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans. The DOJ includes the Drug Enforcement Administration, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the U.S. Marshals, and the Federal Bureau of Prisons. The Attorney General is the head of the DOJ and serves as the government’s chief law enforcement officer.
  • The Department of Labor oversees federal programs for job training, safe working conditions, minimum hourly wage and overtime pay, employment discrimination, and unemployment insurance.
  • The Department of State leads the development and implementation of the President’s foreign policy, including representation abroad, foreign assistance, foreign military training programs, countering international crime, and a wide assortment of services to U.S. citizens and foreign nationals seeking entrance to the United States.
  • The Department of Transportation (DOT) oversees the development and maintenance of a transportation system that meets national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people.
  • The Department of the Treasury advances U.S. and global economic growth to raise American standards of living, support communities, promote racial justice, combat climate change, and foster financial stability. The Treasury Department also enhances national security by safeguarding the financial systems, and identifying and targeting financial support networks that threaten national security.
  • The Department of Veterans Affairs administers benefit programs for veterans, their families, and their survivors.

Source: The Cabinet
Whitehouse.gov CC BY 3.0 US

Back to top