Reactions to a Troubled World

The United States Congress and President Roosevelt passed three important Neutrality Acts, or laws.

  • The Neutrality Act of 1935 prohibited the shipping of arms to nations at war, including the victims of aggressions. This would reduce the possibility of maritime attacks on American vessels.
  • The Neutrality Act of 1936 was designed to keep American citizens out of peril by forbidding them to travel on the ships of warring nations. It made additional restrictions that no loans could be made to belligerent nations.
  • The Neutrality Act of 1937 limited the trade of all goods to warring nations, so that a nation purchasing goods would have to use its ships to transport them to avoid trouble at sea for American ships.

Source: Reactions to a Troubled World
Copyright ©2008-2017 ushistory.org, owned by the Independence Hall Association in Philadelphia, founded 1942.

Back to top