Convention of 1833

The Convention of 1833 met at San Felipe on April 1, the day that Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna took power. Stephen F. Austin was not there, but other settlers who wanted to see a quick change called the new convention. The political chief in San Antonio, Ramon Musquiz, did not approve of this convention either. There were 56 delegates, including Sam Houston, a delegate from Nacogdoches. William H. Wharton was the convention president and Thomas Hastings served as the secretary. The convention resolutions included:

  • petitioning to repeal the anti-immigration section of the Law of April 6, 1830
  • adopting better defense against the Indians
  • reforming the judicial committee
  • improving the mail service
  • passing more tariff exemptions
  • stopping African slave traffic into Texas.
  • Delegates also wanted to split Coahuila and Texas. In case the petition for statehood was granted, a committee run by Houston wrote a constitution to submit to the Mexican Congress. Based on the Massachusetts constitution of 1780, it included a trial by jury, habeas corpus (cannot hold a person in prison without letting him/her see a judge), freedom of the press, and universal suffrage (right to vote).

    David G. Burnet was chosen to head a committee on preparing a memorial to the Mexican government praising the merits of the constitution and organization of the state government. Juan Erasmo Seguín, Dr. James B. Miller, and Austin were chosen to present the petitions to the Mexican government. Seguín and Miller were unable to go, so Austin went to Mexico alone. The convention adjourned on April 13.

    Source: Convention of 1833
    Copyright © Texas State Historical Association

Back to top