Convention of 1832

The Convention of 1832 was held in San Felipe de Austin. 55 delegates, none of whom were Tejano, represented sixteen districts and met from October 1 through October 6, 1832. San Fernando de Bexar (San Antonio) and Victoria did not send delegates to the convention. Delegates from la Bahia (Goliad) arrived after the meeting was over, but they still approved what had been done.

Stephen F. Austin was elected president of the convention and Francis W. Johnson was elected the secretary. The convention came up with some resolutions, including:

  • extending a tariff exemption to Texas for three years
  • adapting the Law of April 6, 1830 to allow more general immigration from the United States
  • appointing a commissioner to issue land titles in East Texas
  • donating land for elementary schools to be taught in Spanish and English
  • requesting a council for Nacogdoches to stop white people from taking land that was guaranteed to Indians in East Texas
  • organize a militia and committees of safety, vigilance, and communication, which could share news quickly in case of emergencies
  • The most controversial decision was to adopt a motion to request separate statehood from Coahuila.

After some discussion, the delegates passed the terms of the convention. William H. Wharton, joined by Rafael Manchola, was selected to present the terms to the Mexican Congress and state legislature of Coahuila and Texas.

The resolutions were never presented however. San Antonio’s refusal to cooperate with the convention made it seem like the colonists from the United States were the only ones who were unhappy. The political chief of the province, Ramon Musquiz, ruled that the meeting was had been illegal. Austin thought that the petition for statehood was happening too soon.

Source: Convention of 1832
Copyright © Texas State Historical Association

Back to top