Constitution of 1824

Constitutional government in Texas began with the Mexican federal Constitution of 1824, which was somewhat patterned after the United States Constitution but more closely looked like the Spanish Constitution of 1812.

Congress had the final say in interpreting the document. Catholicism was the state religion, and the Church was supported by the state. The president and vice president were elected for four-year terms by legislative bodies of the states. The president’s power was limited. Congress had two houses, which met every year from January 1 through April 15. Deputies in the lower house served two years. Senators were selected by their state legislatures for four-year terms.

The judicial power was held in a Supreme Court and superior courts of departments and districts. The Supreme Court was composed of eleven judges and the attorney general. There was no real effort to define the rights of the states in the confederacy. They were required to separate executive, legislative, and judicial functions in their individual constitutions, which were to go along with the national constitution, but local affairs were independent of the federal government.

Stephen F. Austin met with the Mexican leaders who wrote the Constitution of 1824. Juan Jose Maria Erasmo Seguin represented Texas. The Anglo-Americans in Texas were not represented and the document was never voted on by the people.

Source: Constitution of 1824
Copyright © Texas State Historical Association

Back to top