Ad Interim Government

The ad interim government of Texas operated from March 16 through October 22, 1836. The Convention of 1836 declared independence and wrote the Constitution of the Republic of Texas, but the advance of the Mexican army made the possibility of a constitutional government impossible. The last issue taken care of during the convention was to select an ad interim (temporary) government. David G. Burney was the president, Lorenzo de Zavala the vice president, Samuel P. Carson the secretary of state, Bailey Hardeman the secretary of treasury, and David Thomas the attorney general.

This government left with the people during the Runaway Scrape. It changed location several times: from Washington-on-the-Brazos to Harrisburg, Galveston Island, Velasco, and Columbia. The ad interim government continued to work until regular elections were held and the constitution was approved. One of its major concerns was controlling the revolutionary army and dealing with low supplies and people’s attitudes. The government was in place when the two treaties of Velasco were signed. It ended when Sam Houston was elected president.

Source: Ad Interim Government
Copyright © Texas State Historical Association

Back to top